Super Bowl Sunday

Um…who’s playing? It’s football, right? The game starts sometime this afternoon or maybe early evening. I think. Super Bowl Cat

I’m kidding. I know who’s playing. It’s…just a minute while I check with Tom. Of course…it’s the Denver Broncos and the Carolina Panthers. Sadly, I have other plans. I’ve got to catch up on Facebook, and play Words with Friends. I must do a little writing, reading and crocheting. While tending those important chores I’ll probably hang close so I don’t miss the Super Bowl commercials and the snacks.

Coldplay, Manning, Cam — yeah, I have a clue. And I’ll stick around so I don’t miss anything important. All through the game, except during half-time and commercials, I’ll crochet…until Tom says, “Watch, watch, you’ve gotta see this!”

But first, a word from the sports casters, and it’s terribly sad.

I thought the pregame hoopla was all fun and games, but… I just saw a lead-up piece honoring Zaevion Dobson, a 15 year old kid, who shielded 3 girls, taking a bullet to save their lives. Zae was a football star, good kid –killed by senseless gunfire.

I vaguely remember this sad story making national news when it happened in December. But today I watched his mother proudly and tearfully tell of her innocent son’s heroic act. I observed the face of Zaevion’s brother as he passionately championed Zae’s heroism. These are real people, loving family, left bereaved, left to carry on without a son, without a brother.

Zaeveon Dobson

He should have been a super star. Instead he is being eulogized. His life and his heroic act are being memorialized — a spot on the Super Bowl pregame. It’s little consolation, but it’s something. Rest in peace, dear Zaevion, rest in peace.

May God bless his family and comfort them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Sandy Price says:

    Such a heroic young man…so sad he had to leave this world so soon. That 3 young girls are alive because of him is beyond amazing. Rest in peace, dear Zaevion, you are gone but not forgotten. I would bet that Jesus and you are tossing a football around and you have a very special place in heaven.

    As for the Super Bowl…I’ll just pass:)

    Wonderful blog, as always, Betsy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

