Attention Deficit Disorder

Tom- kitchen I’ve not been diagnosed, but I’m pretty sure I have it. Cleaning house — I get started dusting and then coming across stray thing-a-ma-jigs and doohickeys I have to find a better place to put them. The better place requires cleaning out a drawer or reorganizing a cupboard. Then back to the vacuuming, and, as long as I’m moving furniture to sweep under it, might as well rearrange. My friend says frequently rearranging furniture is a sign of insecurity. Am I insecure? Goodness, I don’t want to be insecure. After all my hope is in the Lord, my rock, my anchor. Often I pray this at the start of my day, “Lord I arise today through God’s strength to pilot me, might to uphold me, wisdom to guide me…” (from St. Patrick’s Breastplate). How can I be insecure if my life is in God’s hands?

Wait, this post is about house cleaning. Er, no, this post is about ADD. Excuse me. Phone call…have to take it. It might be a friend or a telemarketer, most likely a telemarketer. Yep. I should look at caller ID before answering. When will I learn?

It’s actually Adult Attention Deficit Disorder  and it seems they throw an H in there too. Adult Attention Deficit and Hyperactive Disorder, nah, that’s not me. I’m not hyperactive. Oh would that I were! I’d get lots of work done then, right? I may not finish anything, but I’d get lots of things started…quickly too!

There, I titled my post so I’ll remember to focus on ADD, but did I tell you we’re getting a new kitchen? I just now found myself feeling a little peckish so I left my desk for a moment to grab a snack, had a chat with the cabinet installer, such a nice young man he is. The new kitchen has effected the inside of the house as well as the outside. The workmen got half the outside repaired. They’ll be back to finish one day soon.

First thing, that chimney has to come down. Tom was so excited to find his 1,001st use for his a Kubota tractor.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 For my PETA friends, that dog was not harmed in the filming of this destruction project, and according to my husband at no time was she in danger. (Yeah, right.) Neither were these kids at risk. So says their dad. photo 1

photo 2

Wait, all that was weeks ago. Today I’m talking about my possible (probable?) affliction. The thing that keeps me from focusing on the task at hand.

I know that if I didn’t suffer with attention deficit I would blog faithfully. I write more often than you know. I have plenty of unpublished, unfinished blog posts in my queue. I have treatises and essays and even books…started, I think I’ll pick one each day to complete — not the book(s), that would require discipline, order, focus, anything but ADD.

I have to tell you though, the kitchen is coming along ever so nicely.

FullSizeRender

 

This entry was posted in Home Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attention Deficit Disorder

  1. The kitchen looks lovely (so far)! I wonder what you’d call my disorder… I b uilt my house 30 years ago and I haven’t rearranged it since. Out of site, out of mind?

    Like

  2. Joan narkum says:

    Wow!!! Kitchen looks amazing and that big of a project would cause anyone to have ADD!

    Joan Narkum Silpada Manager, Trainer, Mentor Home office hours: 10-3 pm eastern Party Days: Tues. Thurs. Sunday 215.869.1617 (cell) Joan.Narkum@gmail.com

    See the catalog, Shop, or Start your business Request more info: http://www.mysilpada.com/Joan.Narkum

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

