A Long Hiatus

Summertime and the living is easy. photo(2)Or at least I’ve decided to take it easy. I haven’t posted a blog for weeks and weeks. I’m on a hiatus from writing I guess. But look here…how could I not share this sight from our backyard.

Have you ever heard a hot air balloon gliding over your head, drifting on a slight breeze, and then firing up its engine with a whooshing sound? If you have you won’t forget it. The sound of propane burners lighting up imprints in your mind. And yet you probably hear it so infrequently that when you do, it takes a minute to register.

Just the other day in the early evening I heard a deep guttural qu-whoosh through my open office window. Concentrating deeply on Facebook or something equally important, my brain didn’t connect the whooshing sound with a balloon until I heard a pounding on my door. I ran from the far corner of the house to the side door… Oh yes! So cool! A hot air balloon is going to land on our property!

But alas as I reached the door and pulled it open there was no balloon in sight. I saw the fellow who presumably knocked running back to his car. He called over his shoulder, “I was just wanting permission, it looked like the balloon could put down in your field, but he’s going to have to cross the creek and land over there. Gotta catch up with it…” And with that he jumped into his car and sped down the driveway.

“Too bad, my loss, good luck!” I shouted.

Whoosh. I heard it again as the colorful contraption rose from behind our barn where he almost landed. The brilliantly painted balloon sailed into view, climbing on a soft breeze, up and away, so close I could see the pilot.  I waved. The balloonist waved back. No camera in hand, no phone on me. Shucks.

It took Tom a minute to identify the whooshing sound overhead while he was casting for fish on French Creek. In a flurry he secured his rod in the canoe and grabbed his camera. The gentleman from on high asked if he caught anything. “Nothing yet,” Tom replied, “but your balloon sure is a beautiful sight.”

Tom pointed, and clicked, and took videos until the balloon drifted out of sight and nothing remained but a few white clouds in the blue sky above him.

And with that, and these four hundred or so words, my blogging hiatus is over. I think. I hope. We’ll see!

IMG_2918

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth!

Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing!

Psalm 100 1-2

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

