Resolutions 2014

I hereby resolve to stop procrastinating.

Who am I kidding? Procrastinating is more than a habit with me, it’s a lifestyle — and I just want to tell you that once in a while it pays off. This morning for instance.

Of course yesterday and the day before I wanted to write a New Year’s blog listing my 2014 resolutions. But it didn’t happen because I was busy fiddling around with other things (insert “p” word here), all the while thinking about my New Year Resolutions.

This morning I tore into a home improvement project rather than sitting down to write my goals for the year. On a break I read an article by Donald Miller entitled, “Don’t Share Your Resolutions.” Ha. Perfect.

Thanks to my putting off I didn’t make the huge mistake of sharing my goals (resolutions) publicly and thereby losing my motivation to achieve. You see, according to a lecture Mr. Miller heard, goals are great, but…

“When you share a goal publicly,
your brain enjoys the sharing in the same way it enjoys the achievement itself,
 and you’ve lost some of your motivation.”
 
 
Are you familiar with Donald Miller? I like his writing, but I LOVE the titles he finds for his books! He is the author of Blue Like Jazz, Searching for God Knows What, A Million Miles in a Thousand Years, and more. Those are the only ones I’ve read, and each was better than the last. He has a website and blog for writers and wanna be writers called Storyline, which I highly recommend if you like to write or if you have a life story begging to be told.
 
Really though, I do want to conquer my practice of procrastinating. I’ll go make myself a list of resolutions that will help me put that troublesome habit aside. But I won’t share the list for fear I’ll ruin my chance of success.
 
Now back to peeling the old wallpaper off the living room walls. I began that this morning to delay sitting down and writing. Then I sat down to write this to put off that (the wretched peeling project). You see it really is a vicious cycle this business of procrastinating. In my defense, I usually finish what I start. Eventually.
 
I’m so glad God runs our days and nights in a steady and predictable manner. The sun comes up and goes down on schedule. I wonder if God sees to that himself, or does he assign the task out? There’s a job you wouldn’t want a procrastinator in charge of. Never mind. I won’t likely be asked to do it when I get to heaven — that is, if we’re given jobs in heaven. Still, I’d like to gain victory over procrastination in this lifetime. Maybe even in 2014.  
 
Sunrise on Christmas morning. Right on schedule.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolutions 2014

  1. I've never thought of you as a procrastinator. I just thought you were a very patient person! 🙂

    Like

  2. Kristine, you are beyond kind. Patient huh? I'll take it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

