Up and Down

My husband loves to repeat a Saturday Night Live skit where Jerry Seinfeld says, “Oprah Winfrey? What’s with her? She’s fat, she’s thin, she’s fat, she’s thin. Pick a body and stick with it!” I’m feeling like I can relate to Oprah, but for me it’s my mood. I’m up, I’m down, I’m up, I’m down. And I know my hubby would like to shout, “Pick a mood and stick with it!”

My solution for the blues is to surround myself with people. When I’m around people I can rise above the blue funk. I can forget all that overwhelms me and makes me sad. If I spend lots of time visiting, chatting, enjoying the company of others, whoosh, I’m up. If I read a good happy book, ahhhh, I’m up. Just one problem, while I’m busy socializing or reading, all the stuff I need to do piles up. Then, when I face the to-do pile, boom, I’m down.

I made three big mistakes in the past month. 1.) I read a book called 5 Quarters of the Orange. It was too deep and dark and heavy for me. And yet it was good in a stretching sort of way. 2.) I watched a DVD about Islam — What the West Needs to Know. Yeah, well I didn’t want to know that stuff. Now I do and there’s not a darn thing I can do about it. 3.) I read The Kite Runner. I can’t even talk about that. It’s hailed as a story of redemption, and it is. But my heart and mind are weighed down with all the awful incidents I read. Things that needed to be redeemed…and were…after a fashion.

Somehow, I’m a better person for all this information. I don’t feel better. A protective bubble burst. I’m deflated. Down. But when you’re down, down, down, the only way to go is up. So here I am looking up, calling out, reaching toward the hand extended to me. Depending on Him to lift me up.

What do people do who don’t have a Savior? I know. They do like one of my little boys used to do when we hopped in the car. I always turned around and asked, “Is your seat belt on?” He crossed his hands over his waist and said, “It’s okay, I’ll save myself.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

